Source: Agency

Aleix Espargaro wins MotoGP Argentina 2022

| 4.4.22 |

Aleix Espargaro wins MotoGP Argentina 2022

 Aleix Espargaro won the Argentina 2022 MotoGP at the Autodromo Termas de Rio Hondo Circuit, Monday, April 4 in the morning WIB. This result is very special because it is also the first victory for Aleix and the Aprilia team in the MotoGP event. In the 25-round race, Espargaro secured his first career victory in various world championship classes. He only confirmed the leading finish after overtaking Pramac Racing team racer Jorge Martin in the last five laps. Suzuki Ecstar's Alex Rins was finally able to feel his first podium of the season by finishing third at the Argentine GP. 

Then behind him or fourth, there is Joan Mir who is a teammate. MotoGP returns to Argentina after two Grand Prix in South America were canceled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. However, this year's race was hampered by logistical problems which caused the cargo plane to arrive late and all Friday practice sessions to be cancelled. The Termas de Rio Hondo circuit also saw for the first time in MotoGP history two Aprilia bikes start from the top five as Espargaro took the Italian team's first pole position and Maverick Vinales in the second row. However, Martin shot well at the start to steal the lead of the race towards the first corner. Espargaro kept his pace in order to stick closely to the Pramac Ducati team rider. Both drivers started to leave their rivals two seconds ahead after seven laps. Martin, who failed to finish in the opening two races of the season, got some breathing room after the Aprila racer went wide at corner one. 

After making this mistake, Espargaro still kept the pace and scored the best lap to catch the leading racer. After two attempts to overtake Martin and go wide, Espargaro pulled off the perfect maneuver to take the lead from his compatriot in the last five laps. That way, he was able to finish first in the MotoGP event in the 200th race of his career. 

Martin had to settle for finishing runner-up or 0.807 seconds apart with Espargaro, while the factory Ducati team got positive results after Francesco Bagnaia finished in the top five despite being eliminated from Q1. Jack Miller was actually unhappy after receiving a penalty, going back three grids to P14 because he was considered to have blocked Fabio Quartararo's pace during the second qualifying round. Marco Bezzecchi became the best rookie after finishing P9 for team Mooney VR46. While chasing Alex Rins for a podium spot, Pol Espargaro crashed at Turn 2 with ten laps remaining. 

It was a tough weekend for the Repsol Honda team who also had to lose Marc Marquez who was forced to miss Argentina due to diplopia after the crash in Mandalika.
Yamaha also failed to shine at Termas as reigning world champion Fabio Quartararo could only finish P8 behind KTM's Brad Binder and Vinales. With this result, Aleix Espargaro came out as the leader of the standings with a collection of 45 points after three races.

Argentina MotoGP Results 2022

1. Aleix Espargaro SPA Aprilia Factory (RS-GP) 

2. Jorge Martin SPA Pramac Ducati (GP22) 

3. Alex Rins SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 

4. Joan Mir SPA Suzuki Ecstar (GSX-RR) 

5. Francesco Bagnaia ITA Ducati Lenovo (GP22) 

6. Brad Binder RSA Red Bull KTM (RC16) 

7. Maverick Viñales SPA Aprilia Factory (RS-GP) 

8. Fabio Quartararo FRA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 

9. Marco Bezzecchi ITA Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP21) 

10. Enea Bastianini ITA Gresini Ducati (GP21) 

11. Luca Marini ITA Mooney VR46 Ducati (GP22) 

12. Takaaki Nakagami JPN LCR Honda (RC213V) 

13. Miguel Oliveira POR Red Bull KTM (RC16) 

14. Jack Miller AUS Ducati Lenovo (GP22) 

15. Alex Marquez SPA LCR Honda (RC213V) 

16. Raul Fernandez SPA KTM Tech3 (RC16) 

17. Remy Gardner AUS KTM Tech3 (RC16) 

18. Darryn Binder RSA WithU RNF Yamaha (YZR-M1) 

19. Stefan Bradl GER Repsol Honda (RC213V) 

20. Andrea Dovizioso ITA WithU RNF Yamaha (YZR-M1)

Not Finish

• Fabio Di Giannantonio ITA Gresini Ducati (GP21)

• Pol Espargaro SPA Repsol Honda (RC213V) 

• Franco Morbidelli ITA Monster Yamaha (YZR-M1) 

• Johann Zarco FRA Pramac Ducati (GP22)

Latest news Update